TV Series

Top 5 Best Netflix Original TV shows

I am not going to lie I have a slight addiction with TV shows and I thought that it might be a good idea to put that addiction to use. Netflix offers a large variety of TV series and movies but they also make their own! And the positive aspect of that is that they can be watched all over the world! Whilst the non-Netflix Original TV show/movie choice differs from country to country. Incredibly unfair if you ask me.

So here’s my top 5 (please do note that I haven’t seen all Netflix Originals so if you don’t see your favorite one in my little list chances are that I just haven’t seen it).

1.Alias Grace

No seriously, if you haven’t seen Alias Grace stop reading this post and binge watch it now. It’s a story based on Margaret Atwood’s book (surprise) : “Alias Grace” BUT the book itself is based on a true story and it’s so eerie but yet captivating and I was completely mesmerized and compelled by the show after having seen the first episode. It’s a psychological thriller by the way. And it’s normally not the type of TV series I would settle for but I would settle down for Alias Grace any day, any time.

The story follows Grace Marks an alleged murderess, people aren’t sure if she commited the crime she is being accused of because of all the controversial evidence so they call in a mind doctor : Dr. Simon Jordan. And it’s up to him to figure out if she did in fact murder two people in cold blood. Whilst she tells him her story you get to travel back in time with her and discover her very strange journey and until the very end you can’t possibly make up your mind on whether you think she’s guity or not. But let’s be honest even the ending leaves you full of questions and other plossible reasons for that outcome. Which is exactly the reason why I bought the book hoping to find more answers there.

And not only is the story incredible, the whole show is. From the casting choice down right to the editing. It is breathtaking. (By the way this is a limited series, 6 episodes in total and you won’t get more then that)

2. The Umbrella Academy

Image result for the umbrella academy

The show has a total of ten equally entertaining episodes. It is a story about seven very gifted people who were all given birth on the same day by women who hadn’t been pregnant when the day first started. An unfortunate happening happens and all of a sudden they find themselves a new mission, that may very well be their last; Save the world from the apocalyps that is about to happen.

Are you a fan of “super-heroes”, good actors and an entertaining story line? Then this is the show for you.

If you were to do a check list of the ingredients for the perfect TV series, I can wholeheartedly affirm that this show has it all:
– Diverse charachters that make you wonder why all cool people are fictional: check
– Susppens from the beginning all the way to the end: check
– Plot twists thrown in your face when you expect them the least: check
– Material to fangirl/fanboy about: double check
– Refreshing take on beings with super-powers: check (okay this one a little bit more specific)
And the list goes on. 
The writing is great, the casting is even better. And just to casually throw it out there: Robert Sheehan’s performance as Klaus was A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.The show is more than entertaining and honestly it’s been a while since a TV show this good has come out….I presume you’re getting my point: Watch the damn thing.

3. The Haunting of Hill House

Once again beautifully made and great casting choice. You know: actual competent actors.

Image result for the haunting of hill house

This show is creepy but not too creepy, I could watch it alone at night without thinking I was going to have nightmares for the rest of my days. It’s just not your typical TV-show. Netflix really has been stepping up their game with these series.

It’s really good and if ghost stories are your thing then watch this, you won’t regret it I promise you.

Here is a synopsis (I didn’t write this myself but I couldn’t quite get the words right to explain it and Wikipedia could so here’s a word from my friend Wiki):

In the summer of 1992, Hugh and Olivia Crain and their children – Steven, Shirley, Theodora, Luke, and Nell – move into Hill House to renovate the mansion in order to sell it and build their own house, designed by Olivia. However, due to unexpected repairs, they have to stay longer, and they begin to experience increasing paranormal phenomena that results in a tragic loss and the family fleeing from the house. Twenty-six years later, the Crain siblings and their estranged father reunite after tragedy strikes again, and they are forced to confront how their time in Hill House had affected each of them.

*Here’s when choosing becomes difficult*

4. A Series of Unfortunate Events

Image result for a series of unfortunate events netflix

Are you a fan of Lemony Snicket? Or were you, like me, a big fan of the ‘A Series of Unfortunate events’ movie? Well then watch the TV show because it does it great justice. Not to mention that it has one of the greatest opening theme song of all time.

The show follows the unfortunate life of Violet, Klaus and Sunny Baudelaire. There parents have just perished in a terrible fire and they are now to live with their new Guardian: Count Olaf but the only thing he wishes to have is their fortune, and is willing to go through great, creative lengths to acquire just that. Which leads to us having the pleasure of seeing the Baudelaire orphans discover life in a most peculiar way.

5. Stranger Things (mostly the first season)

Image result for stranger things season 1 poster

Well no synopsis here, if you don’t know what Stranger Things is about I might just start believing that you have been living under a rock for the last four years.

But it is quite good in fact, when it first came out the concept was also very special. We’re not going to lie, similar stuff had already been done in movies but never (at least not that I know of) in a TV series. And as much as I really liked the first season and believe that everybody should watch it, I wasn’t the biggest admirer of season two. It didn’t live up to my expectations and it just didn’t go the way I expected it to go. And from what I’ve seen so far, season three doesn’t look much better. But the first season was incredible. So you should definitely watch it if you haven’t!!!!


And that is all!! Hopefully you’ve discovrered a new TV series that you would like to watch. If so, I would love to hear your thoughts on it once you’ve seen it!!!

What is your favorite TV show? Tell me in the comments!!

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Best Netflix Original TV shows”

Leave a comment